Home

MS: Biting the bullet and using a scooter (part four)

July 21, 2016

IMG_2716

TC in Seattle

We leave Vancouver the next day and drive back to Seattle with the scooter in the trunk of the rental car. From Seattle, we begin the next leg of the trip, during which we will travel by Amtrak to Glacier National Park and spend a few days there.

TC drops me off at the Amtrak station in downtown Seattle with the scooter and bags, and he returns the rental car. When the train arrives, I drive the scooter up a metal ramp and onto the train without a problem. I drive down a hallway to a handicapped sleeping compartment.

scooter up close

Tooling around on the scooter

It’s my first overnight train trip, and while I don’t sleep well, I am able to walk back and forth to the dining car without a problem. I am happy to report that the train ride to Glacier goes off without a hitch — more than I can say for the final leg of the trip.

We have a fun weekend at the park, including a boat ride and an eight-hour, 50-mile bus tour of the entire park that includes a stop at the Continental Divide. The scenery is majestic, and the weather couldn’t be better – blue skies and sunshine with temperatures in the 60s and 70s during the day.

On the following day — our last full day at the park — we learn that our train to Chicago is running late; we were supposed to leave the park around 11 am, but now it looks like we won’t get out of here before 6:30 pm. We could miss our plane out of Chicago and get home a day late.

C&J at Glacier

TC and I tour Glacier National Park

I tool down the road on the scooter from the lodge at Glacier to the nearby Amtrak station with no problem. As I enter the station, the front wheel of the scooter shakes, and I see that a chunk of sidewalk beside the threshold is missing. As I leave by the same door, the scooter’s front tire turns sideways in the gap between the sidewalk and the threshold. The scooter falls to the right, taking me with it.

TC rights the scooter and I get back on it. Uninjured, I continue to the platform and wait for the train.

TO BE CONTINUED

One Response to “MS: Biting the bullet and using a scooter (part four)”

  1. Judy Bobula Says:

    The scooter is not preventing you two from having a good time. That’s great.
    I’ve got the itch to go somewhere.on a trip.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Ashley's Life with Multiple Sclerosis

"Through every dark night, there is a brighter day." -Tupac

MS with a Southern accent

Hot enough for ya?

Pretty Feet, Pop Toe

It's just my point of view. Love it or hate it.

Aging Gracefully My Ass

A sincere blog about a donkey

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

Stroppy Editor

Minding other people’s language. A lot.

sgraphos1028

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

AnonMS Blogger

Ramblings from a "Possible MS" Candidate

