Home

MS: Biting the bullet and using a scooter (part three)

July 17, 2016

When TC comes back from his conference that afternoon, I’m still sitting in the room with the scooter. I tell him what has happened, and he fixes the problem by removing the battery from the scooter and reseating it. He turns the key, and the scooter works perfectly.

We have dinner plans that evening in downtown Vancouver. I leave the scooter in the room, and we drive to the restaurant. Long story short, my cane and I enjoy a lovely meal with TC and two other conference goers. I don’t know why I didn’t take my scooter. I could have. But I seem to be getting cold feet (figuratively) about riding it.

The following evening, we are expected at a banquet on campus, which marks the end of the conference. TC tells me the location of the banquet is “a couple of blocks” away. He asks if I want to take the scooter. I decline, ensuring him wholeheartedly that I can easily walk that distance.

That was not the right decision. So why did I decline? Well, I’m still working through that. But in hindsight, I suspect it had something to do with accepting my limitations. Or maybe I don’t want others to see my limitations.

As we head out for dinner, I find it difficult to lift my right leg, despite the Walk Aid that helps me raise the front of my foot. My pace gets slower and slower as we approach our destination, and the “couple of blocks” seem longer and longer. By the time we reach our location, my pace has slowed considerably, and I trip with every two or three steps. I am quite fatigued when we finally reach the restaurant, and I wish I had taken the scooter. The return trip – from the restaurant to the room – is even worse. I walk even more slowly, tripping more often and becoming even more fatigued. After that trek, I finally admit to myself I need the scooter.

TO BE CONTINUED

Leave a Reply

Ashley's Life with Multiple Sclerosis

"Through every dark night, there is a brighter day." -Tupac

MS with a Southern accent

Hot enough for ya?

Pretty Feet, Pop Toe

It's just my point of view. Love it or hate it.

Aging Gracefully My Ass

A sincere blog about a donkey

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

Stroppy Editor

Minding other people’s language. A lot.

sgraphos1028

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

AnonMS Blogger

Ramblings from a "Possible MS" Candidate

