Home

One walk down, one to go

April 5, 2015

challenge walk logoIf you follow my blog regularly, you may already know that I volunteered to work during the three-day 50-mile MS Challenge Walk from Savannah to Tybee Island, Georgia, on March 6-8. I had a lot of fun volunteering during the walk, and I met a lot of people from all over the southeast U.S.  — people who have been diagnosed with MS,  their family members and friends. (See my March 9 post.)

As a part of a team that represented the National MS Society’s Alabama-Mississippi chapter, I was able to raise more than $1,600 for this regional event. I want to thank each of  you who made a contribution! This year’s Savannah challenge walk raised a total of more than $600,000.

But that’s not all, folks. On April 11, I will participate in the Birmingham MS Walk to help the Alabama chapter raise money for cutting-edge research and life-changing local programs for people diagnosed with MS and their families. I have participated in this local event for close to 20 years. In the past, I have served as team captain of the Alabama Power team, and, this year, I am serving as team captain of the Splashers.

The Splashers team is made up primarily of members of the Lakeshore Foundation’s MS Aquatics Class. We are a support group and exercise class all rolled into one.  Many of us have been diagnosed with MS, but our family members and friends also walk. I had attended the class for 10 years, and our team has participated in this local walk event for more than 5 years.

If you haven’t made a donation to the Birmingham MS Walk, and if you would like to support my efforts and the efforts of the SMS walk logoplashers team, please go to http://www.nationalmssociety.org/Donate, click on “support an event participant,” and make a donation. Thanks for your help in finding a cure for MS.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Ashley's Life with Multiple Sclerosis

"Through every dark night, there is a brighter day." -Tupac

MS with a Southern accent

Hot enough for ya?

Pretty Feet, Pop Toe

It's just my point of view. Love it or hate it.

Aging Gracefully My Ass

A sincere blog about a donkey

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

Stroppy Editor

Minding other people’s language. A lot.

Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Just another pyjama party sponsored by MS

sgraphos1028

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

AnonMS Blogger

Ramblings from a "Possible MS" Candidate

