Home

Blogging 101 redux

March 2, 2015

Gentle readers,

My first attempt at the WordPress Blogging 101 course in November was not successful. I can’t even remember why I didn’t stick with it. Regardless, I have enrolled in the course again, and plan to stay with it to the bitter end. 

The first Blogging 101 assignment is to blog about who I am and why I’m here. It’s been more than three years since I started this blog and explained what I was doing, so here’s a recap for those of you who were tardy getting to this party:

I was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis (MS) in 1998. After I retired from a corporate public-relations job in 2005, I began working part-time as an adjunct instructor teaching news writing at a nearby university (Roll Tide!), and, at about the same time, I started working as a freelance writer. After a couple of years, I gave up the teaching position, but I continue to freelance.

In early 2011, I joined a writers group. When the topic of blogging came up during a meeting, I announced to the group that I planned to start a blog about MS. As the idea took shape, I decided I would educate others about the condition by blogging about my personal experiences — good and bad. And, because MS doesn’t define me, I also blog about other topics. These days, one of those topics is online dating. (What a zoo that is!)

Anyway, here’s my first post from my blog, dated June 6, 2011. It was titled, It’s not the heat, it’s the humidity:

Here are three good reasons to have a blog titled “MS with a Southern accent.”

First, a lower percentage of people in the southern U.S. are said to have MS, as compared to those who live in the northern part of the country. In fact, in all parts of the world, MS is more common at latitudes that are farther from the equator. As a result, this blog approaches MS from a slightly more tropical perspective.

Second, Southerners are purported to be natural-born storytellers, so this blog should practically write itself with only a little help from me.

And third, the Deep South is the hottest and most humid place to live in the whole country. Throw MS into the mix, and it’s not pretty. It makes my hair frizzy and my MS symptoms worse. I probably spend at least four months of each year holed up at home so I can minimize the effects of heat and humidity. On the other hand, I have plenty of time to write.

Looks like I found my niche.

(NOTE: The original post has been edited. I corrected typos and made a few changes to tighten it up and improve its accuracy. I guess I’m an editor at heart.)

Leave a Reply

Ashley's Life with Multiple Sclerosis

"Through every dark night, there is a brighter day." -Tupac

MS with a Southern accent

Hot enough for ya?

Pretty Feet, Pop Toe

It's just my point of view. Love it or hate it.

Aging Gracefully My Ass

A sincere blog about a donkey

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

Stroppy Editor

Minding other people’s language. A lot.

Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Potholed brain, kickass mind!

sgraphos1028

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

AnonMS Blogger

Ramblings from a "Possible MS" Candidate

