I’m on an online dating site. My disability is on there, too.

July 18, 2014

Many people with disabilities find that online dating can be a difficult process at best. Tell me about it. (That last part was sarcasm.)

I spent six months on a popular, highly ranked online dating site without indicating in my profile that I had a disability. While my disability is nearly invisible, I walk with a cane — which is visible when I meet someone.

The first man I met online also had a disability. We dated for a couple of months and parted as friends. During the next four months, I met four other men online and in person. I told all but one of them about my disability before I met them, yet none of them asked me out on a second date.

So, I have decided to do an experiment to see if my walking with a cane has any effect on the responses I get on the online dating site. This morning, I added the following information to my online dating profile: “I walk with the help of a cane, which seems to make some men on online dating sites feel uncomfortable. If you would be uncomfortable dating a woman who uses a cane, please refrain from responding to my profile.”

I’ll let you know what happens.

 

4 Responses to “I’m on an online dating site. My disability is on there, too.”

  1. Judy Says:

    This is great. Good job.

    Like

  2. Johnf993 Says:

    When some one searches for his necessary thing, so heshe desires to be available that in detail, thus that thing is maintained over here. dbekeddffcdd

    Like

  3. Johnb943 Says:

    I truly appreciate this article.Really thank you! Fantastic. eeegdkbfekde

    Like


Leave a Reply

MS with a Southern accent

Hot enough for ya?

Pretty Feet, Pop Toe

It's just my point of view. Love it or hate it.

Aging Gracefully My Ass

A sincere blog about a donkey

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

Stroppy Editor

Minding other people’s language. A lot.

Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Sometimes I think I tore all the ligaments in my head.

sgraphos1028

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

AnonMS Blogger

Ramblings from a "Possible MS" Candidate

MS Blog - MSLISASAYS - Multiple Sclerosis Blog

One of the best MS blogs filled with stories about living with Multiple Sclerosis

