Home

Say goodbye to Baby-head

April 12, 2014

I guess I should have figured that if I overfed my cats for close to 10 years, their health would suffer sooner or later. (See previous post: “Baby-head and brother make ‘lifestyle change,'” Jan. 14, 2013)

It was, in fact, sooner than I expected. At age 10, Jem (Baby-head’s brother) began losing weight and was diagnosed with diabetes. I began giving him insulin twice a day and feeding him special $$$$ food. He’s back in fine form, neither missing a meal nor failing to remind me when the litter box needs routine maintenance.

Baby-head’s (Scout’s) health problem was more of a mystery, at first. My vet thought she had a heart problem, but after an $$$$ echocardiogram did not indicate a problem with her heart, she was diagnosed high blood pressure that was causing kidney failure.

I gave her medication to lower her blood pressure, but her kidneys just couldn’t keep up. Her quality of life sucked, and, after one course of fluids, I decided that simply keeping her alive wasn’t an acceptable option. She seemed okay for about a month or so, but continued to lose weight, became dehydrated and got weaker. She sometimes had difficulty walking or holding up her head.

It wasn’t an easy decision. I called the vet and took her in later that day to have her “put down.” Here I was, 60 years old and a cat owner since age 13, and I had never taken a cat to the vet to be euthanized.

When I got to the vet’s office, her assistant told me that she thought Scout had a stroke, too. The vet and her assistant were compassionate and efficient in performing the procedure. It was very sad — more so than I thought it would be. I petted her until I felt her body begin to grow cold. I cried a little.

I took her body to my friends’ house and buried her in their pet cemetery.

She was without a doubt the sweetest-natured cat I ever owned.

Jem seems to know she is gone, but doesn’t seem to be grieving. I think he’ll be fine as long as he gets to eat her food as well as his. And now that he no longer has a sister to beat up on, he has become almost as sweet-natured as she was.

Goodbye, Scout. Sweet dreams.

4 Responses to “Say goodbye to Baby-head”

  1. Leigh Says:

    Awwwww…..that is very sad! Pet loss is a very painful event! Your kitty was lucky to have you! My thoughts are with you!

    Like

  2. Judy Says:

    She was the friendliest cat I have ever been around. I know you will miss her.

    Like


  3. Thanks for commenting, Judy. I miss her, but Jem is keeping me company.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Ashley's Life with Multiple Sclerosis

"Through every dark night, there is a brighter day." -Tupac

MS with a Southern accent

Hot enough for ya?

Pretty Feet, Pop Toe

It's just my point of view. Love it or hate it.

Aging Gracefully My Ass

A sincere blog about a donkey

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

Stroppy Editor

Minding other people’s language. A lot.

Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Just another pyjama party sponsored by MS

sgraphos1028

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

AnonMS Blogger

Ramblings from a "Possible MS" Candidate

