Home

I’m back on my soapbox

February 20, 2013

(NOTE: This is a three-part posting.)

At about this time last year, I wrote an op/ed column that was printed in a local newspaper. (‘Trip to Jefferson County courthouse with MS an unpleasant one‘) In the column, I recounted an experience that was fraught with problems because of my inability to walk long distances or stand for long periods of time.

Well, here I go again. This time, I’ve climbed back up on my virtual soapbox to communicate with people who work in customer-service jobs. I am hopeful that the suggestions I make here will help them better serve customers with disabilities.

Part One is intended for restaurant employees who seat customers with disabilities. Part Two will address employees of big-box stores who are responsible for maintaining electric grocery carts.And Part Three will focus on hotel and motel employees who reserve “handicapped” rooms.

GOING OUT TO EAT

Even though I use a cane and sometimes walk with a pronounced limp, I have found that restaurant employees tend to seat me in or near a corner of the restaurant that is equally distant from the restaurant’s entrance and the restrooms. I do not find this practice to be acceptable.

As a result of this situation, I have learned to ask these employees to “please seat me nearby” as I am led away from the front of an establishment. When I go to a restaurant that I have not visited before, I have to remember to ask the same question. Otherwise, I may find myself seated in a back corner of the dining area, from where it is difficult to make the long trek to the restroom or back to the entrance.

While I don’t speak for others with disabilities, I know that I find it difficult at best to manage my life from day to day with even a relatively minor disability. So, if you work in a restaurant, would you please be more sensitive to the needs of these customers?

3 Responses to “I’m back on my soapbox”

  1. Jan Jenner Says:

    Hello Jane,
    Because I take care of an elderly husband whose walking speed is permanently in “creep gear,” I have grown more sensitive to restaurant seating issues for people who have disabilities.

    In this piece I very much like how you maintain your dignity, clearly pointing out the problem without kvetching and indulging in “poor me.”

    Nicely done.

    Like

  2. Lynn Says:

    good job–these people have to be reminded to be aware of their customers needs

    Like


Leave a Reply

Ashley's Life with Multiple Sclerosis

"Through every dark night, there is a brighter day." -Tupac

MS with a Southern accent

Hot enough for ya?

Pretty Feet, Pop Toe

It's just my point of view. Love it or hate it.

Aging Gracefully My Ass

A sincere blog about a donkey

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

Stroppy Editor

Minding other people’s language. A lot.

Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Just another pyjama party sponsored by MS

sgraphos1028

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

AnonMS Blogger

Ramblings from a "Possible MS" Candidate

