Home

‘Do I have to wear a swimming cap?’

June 21, 2011

That’s what I asked when I finally caved in and called the instructor about attending an aquatics exercise class designed specifically for people with MS. My neurologist had been telling me for years that I needed to go to this class, but I procrastinated, because I didn’t swim well and, most of all, because I didn’t want to have to wash chlorine out of my hair after each class.

The instructor answered: “Oh, no. We don’t get our hair wet!” Just like that, I was all for it.

The next week, I went to class for the first time. The cool water was refreshing. It felt good to stretch my muscles. Moving in the water was easier than on land.

Fast forward to today. I’ve been going to the same exercise class for about 10 years. It has been a positive and rewarding experience for me. I just feel better when I go to class. It gets me out of the house, and I enjoy meeting other people who have been diagnosed with MS.

The class eats lunch together once a month and has become an informal support group. We keep up with each other and call those who miss a class just to make sure they’re OK. The class even formed a Walk MS team about four years ago and participates annually in the local walk to raise money for the National MS Society’s programs and research.

Let’s face it. People who have been diagnosed with MS need to exercise. I look forward to going to class twice a week. For me, it’s a keeper.

4 Responses to “‘Do I have to wear a swimming cap?’”

  1. msathlete Says:

    Jane

    Thank you so much for your post! I am so glad to know there is an aquafit class specifically for people with MS.

    I have been swimming for about 5 years to help manage my MS. It has made the world of difference.

    best
    susan@msathlete.org

    Like


  2. Swimming is great for MS!

    Like

  3. Dana Says:

    This is such a good post. I have had M.S. since 2005. I also did an aquatic exercise class for about a year. I live somewhere now where there is not a class and I truly miss it.
    You made a comment recently on one of my daughter’s post called MS Awareness. She gave me your page and I had to check it out. Love to hear back from you and I will be following your blog.

    Like


    • Dana, Thanks for your comments about aquatic exercise class. I have had MS since 1998. I am fortunate that there is a world-class exercise/wellness facility nearby for people with disabilities. It’s impressive. It’s also a olympic/paralympic training site. That’s where I attend the aquatics class. I found your daughter’s blog just the other day, and enjoyed reading it. I will follow her blog from now on. I hope you are doing well with your MS. Have you read Trevis Gleason’s blog about MS? It’s a good one, too. – Jane

      Like


Leave a Reply

Ashley's Life with Multiple Sclerosis

"Through every dark night, there is a brighter day." -Tupac

MS with a Southern accent

Hot enough for ya?

Pretty Feet, Pop Toe

It's just my point of view. Love it or hate it.

Aging Gracefully My Ass

A sincere blog about a donkey

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

Stroppy Editor

Minding other people’s language. A lot.

Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Just another pyjama party sponsored by MS

sgraphos1028

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

AnonMS Blogger

Ramblings from a "Possible MS" Candidate

