WalkAide: some days it works better than others

July 6, 2014

Walkaide another photoOn Friday, I used the WalkAide at two Independence Day celebrations — one was a luncheon and the other involved dinner, a party and a community fireworks display.  I did a lot of walking outdoors on uneven ground. I was stepping up and down curbs, and as the evening wore on, I noticed I was walking more slowly.

I think I use different muscles when I walk with the WalkAide than when I walk with a brace, which causes my foot and leg to tire somewhat over time.

Saturday didn’t go well as previous days. I went shopping for clothes at a large consignment shop and followed that with a quick trip to the grocery store. I tried adjusting the location and the intensity of the device, but by the time I got to the grocery store, I felt as if I were having to concentrate on picking up my foot on every step. I was walking slowly and with difficulty.

So while my response to the WalkAide this week has been a positive one overall, I would like to work more with Todd to tweak the settings and recheck the placement of the device on my leg. I plan to ask him if  I can keep the device a little longer before I decide whether to buy it. It is expensive and my insurance doesn’t cover it.

I have an appointment with Todd on Tuesday.

7 Responses to “WalkAide: some days it works better than others”

  1. Vincent Says:

    Jane, it sounds like the Walkaide is working good overall. As you know, I use a Bioness and as you stated, muscles are used differently (and maybe different muscles also) when walking with a brace versus with a Walkaide. As you use the Walkaide more, I’m sure your legs will get stronger and you won’t tire as easily. I encourage you to work with Todd on positioning and I really hope he’ll let you test drive it longer.

  2. sgraphos1028 Says:

    Life with MS is all about trial & error!!

  3. Char Bowman Says:

    Wow what an ordeal, sounds pretty darn cool tho, considering everything!

    Char

    >

  4. luann Says:

    Looks like the walkaide is working for you. It sounds like you did a lot that day. Remember that with MS your legs may get tired and the walkaide may not help as much….not because of the walkaide , but your muscles are tired working harder. I have had walkaides for over 2 years, one for each leg. I love them and could not be without them now. I was lucky enough that a friend threw a fundraiser for me since ins would not cover, and i needed 2!


    • Thanks for reading my blog, Luann, and for your support as I decide whether or not to buy the Walk Aide. Look for an update about the Walk Aide today or tomorrow. I am glad that your Walk Aides are working well for you!


Leave a Reply

sgraphos1028

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

AnonMS Blogger

Ramblings from a "Possible MS" Candidate

MS Blog - MSLISASAYS - Multiple Sclerosis Blog

One of the best MS blogs filled with stories about living with Multiple Sclerosis

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Adventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

Faithfully Flawed

The Spiritual Evolution of a Faulty Catholic

Life in the Boomer Lane

Musings of a former hula hoop champion

stuff southern people like

all manner of dixie delicacies and doo-dads

Debra H. Goldstein - DHG's Blog

It's Not Always A Mystery - Thoughts From Debra & Her Friends

